Getting Life in Shape with Bruce Lee

Bruce Lee is my idol all my life. There aren’t  still many Asian men nowadays in America who can exude the level of masculinity like he was.  I found myself often looking back to him for inspiration when I felt down or stressed-out.  Recently, I turned to him again for some guidance on how to lead a better life.  I came across this article by Henrik Edberg who had some good insights on the application of Bruce’s philosophy. I think it’s a good idea to share with every one.  For the complete article, click here.

The author points out Bruce’s 7 fundamental concepts that resonate very much with me. In response, I tried to sort out my thoughts by following the author’s approach.

1. “As you think, so shall you become.” – What are you really thinking about today?

This concept brings out a very conscious reminder to me that what I want to become for getting into the game in the first place. The man that I’ve always wanted to become. Am I living congruency to my thought? Is it in line with my reality? How am I getting back on track to work on myself?

2. “If you spend too much time thinking about a thing, you’ll never get it done.” – Simplify.

This is like another punch to me. Everything that the author said about this concept hit on my spine. He tells me to focus. Gotta get yourself out there. Just do it.

3. “To know oneself is to study oneself in action with another person.”- Learn about yourself in interactions.

I was like…omg…this is exactly what I’m trying to do in order to improve my game with women. It’s hard sometime to notice yourself consciously during the interaction. Oftertime, my mind just can’t rev up fast enough to tune in to others. I often try to play back in my mind to study what I could adjust better next time.

4. “Take no thought of who is right or wrong or who is better than. Be not for or against.” – Do not divide.

Actually I find this one pretty hard to apply in life, where you have to fight your ego logically because the ego likes to divide from others. I’ve improved over the years to manage to put my ego aside to certain extent. It’s the only way to learn from others through conscious observing.

5. “I’m not in this world to live up to your expectations and you’re not in this world to live up to mine.” – Avoid a dependency on validation from others.

Wow, this is so true. We learn that women respond to such kind of men. The guys who’re naturally good with women don’t have this problem. I wonder if that’s because they have plenty experience so that they don’t need it anymore. I also wonder that how a guy who never had validations from women can become self-validated. I think ‘experience’ is the dirty secret of the naturals.

6. “To hell with circumstances; I create opportunities.” – Be proactive.

Bruce and Henrik are both absolutely right on the point. The only way to succeed is to look for it.

7. “Always be yourself, express yourself, have faith in yourself, do not go out and look for a successful personality and duplicate it.” – Be you.

I don’t know how much this concept affects me. Everything I do is toward this goal, but it’s just so hard to do without conscious effort and proactive self-guidance. This whole game thing is designed to simulate the naturals. Hopefully, we’ll be one of them later. Like others questioned Bruce before, how can I find my own way without a way? How can I get there? I guess everything gotta start somewhere.

Let me know what’s your take. Feedback are always welcomed.

10 Responses to “Getting Life in Shape with Bruce Lee”

  1. Simply wish to say your article is as amazing.
    The clearness in your post is simply cool and i could assume you are an expert
    on this subject. Well with your permission let me to grab your RSS feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post.
    Thanks a million and please keep up the rewarding work.

  2. Outstanding story there. What happened after? Take care!

  3. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear.
    Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyhow, just
    wanted to say great blog!

  4. トリーバーチ バッグ新作 18 世紀以来、女性の財布を使用し始めた。だから、これは最も可能性の高い提供財布少し重量。結合組織は私達の体を一緒に保持するものです。彼らはのシンボルかなりの時間。 ルイヴィトン 財布 エピ

  5. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep it up!

    I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later on.
    Cheers

  6. Hi there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my facebook group?
    There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy your
    content. Please let me know. Thank you

  7. Hi there! I know this is kinda off topic nevertheless I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest authoring a
    blog post or vice-versa? My website addresses a lot of the same topics as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit
    from each other. If you are interested feel free to send me an e-mail.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Excellent blog by the way!

  8. Hello very nice site!! Guy .. Excellent .. Wonderful .. I’ll bookmark your
    website and take the feeds additionally? I’m glad to find numerous useful info
    here in the put up, we want develop extra strategies in this regard, thank you for sharing.
    . . . . .

Leave a comment